Freak Out

Photo of the Day
Diane Arbus was an American photographer known for her photos of deviant and marginal people. (dwarfs, giants, transvestites, nudists and circus performers.)

The photographer, who became famous for her book – Freaks, fit the popular ’60s template of the romantic, tragic, brilliant, unconventional, tortured artist. Her work is still very popular and galleries vie for a chance to display her works.

“Freaks was a thing I photographed a lot,” she wrote. “It was one of the first things I photographed and it had a terrific kind of excitement for me. I just used to adore them. I still do adore some of them. I don’t quite mean they’re my best friends but they made me feel a mixture of shame and awe.”
– Diane Arbus

Arbus committed suicide in 1971 at the age of 48. Maybe if she had heard Chic sing Le Freak, she would have cheered up!

Enjoy a blast from the past:

