Going Green

Hybrid Cars
As I continue my search for the perfect hybrid car, I came across Porsche’s entry into the array. OMG! Have you ever seen a more beautiful car? Oof!

Alas, a Porsche 918 Spyder Hybrid won’t be sitting in my driveway any time soon – only in my wildest dreams. Porsche is taking the concept car to production at a price of $630,000 – not quite in my price range.

The mid-engined roadster features a 500-horsepower V8 based upon the 3.4-liter engine found in the Porsche RS Spyder race cars. There’s also an electric motor at the front axle and another at the rear; together they put down 218 horsepower.

Porsche says the 918 will do zero to 62mph in less than 3.2 seconds and hit a top speed of 198 mph. It’s supposedly gets 78.4 mpg, but it isn’t clear how Porsche arrived at those figures, which are surely experienced only when using the lightest touch on the accelerator and maximum assist from electricity.

Almost as sexy, a little driving music from Tina Turner –  In Your Wildest Dreams:

