Going Green

Hypermiling
San Diego gasoline prices continue to rise and are predicted to be $4 per gallon by the end of the year. If the Suez Canal closes due to the unrest in Egypt and other parts of the middle east, all bets are off. We could be looking at $6+ per gallon gas.

Being a resourceful person, I considered riding my bike to the store. After trying that brainy idea I am lucky to be alive. We live in a little valley and the only way out is uphill.  If push comes to shove I can walk it, but I certainly won’t try the bike again. Whew!

It was time for plan B – get a car with better mileage. My Camry was averaging 24 mpg and on the road it would get 30 mpg. Not bad for a sedan, but, I really missed having an SUV. Because I haul heavy gardening supplies, large bags of dog food, etc., it’s difficult for me to bend down and pull heavy items out of the trunk. With an SUV, you simply slide items out the back.

Anyway, after doing a lot of research, I chose a Hybrid SUV. At first, I drove the hybrid the same way I drove the Camry. Then I noticed the display on the nav screen that shows you exactly what kind of mileage the car is getting. I watched it go from 31.1 to 30.4. I was getting 7/10 of a mile less! That’s when driving became a challenge. How high could I get that number to go? I decided I would get 34 mpg.

On a fairly flat road and staying just under 40 mph, the gas engine doesn’t even turn on – it’s pure battery power. The challenge is to drive on battery power for as long as possible. It’s called hypermiling. Of course, that’s when other drivers speed past and point their middle finger at me as they go by. Oh, the price of being green.

Enjoy Paul McCartney – Drive My Car:

Beep beep, beep beep, yeah!

