Eurovision Song Contest Winner – Azerbajian

Nikki and Ell
On Saturday I joined millions of viewers all over the world to watch the Eurovision Finals broadcast from Dusseldorf, Germany. The winner of this year’s song contest was Azerbaijan. The song Running Scared was performed by a 30 year old mother of two, Nigar Jamal, and Eldar Gasimov, a 21 year old graduate student at Baku Slavic University. The song is a catchy pop tune that was not my choice, but apparently the Europeans liked it.

My pick to win was Hungary’s entry, What About My Dreams by Kati Wolf. My other two pics were Romania’s Change by Hotel FM, and Turkey’s hard rockin’ entry Live It Up by Yüksek Sadakat.

The first song contest was held in Lugano, Switzerland in 1956 and if you are thinking that this is just another silly contest, think again. In 1974 ABBA won for Sweden with their song Waterloo and in 1988 Celine Dion won for Switzerland with Ne parted pas sans moi.

Enjoy the 2011 winning song:

