Old Rockers

Driving Music
It’s summer and folks are driving around with the top down, windows open and the radio on. My favorite station is “80’s on 8” on SiriusXM. There are still a few deaf kids driving around with hip hop blaring from their boom box speakers, but I keep my music cranked up so I can’t hear the little buggers.

80’s music is everywhere. This summer there are so many old rockers on tour I don’t have space to name them all. Interestingly enough, it’s not just a bunch of gray-haired people at the concerts. A lot of young people are going to the concerts with their parents! Something unheard of before the 80’s. Although I do remember going to Vegas with our parents when we were kids and going to the dinner shows.  Kids could go to the early shows because there was no nudity or swearing – that was reserved for the later shows. How times have changed. Now kids can see and hear anything and everything on the 5 o’clock news.

Anyway, one of my favorite bands, Def Leppard, kicked off their 2012 concert tour at the House of Blues in LA last week. Their 1983 hit song Rock of Ages was the inspiration for the Broadway Musical of the same name. This weekend the movie version of the play is opening in theaters everywhere. What a great way to kick off the summer!

